Lessons Learned From Cooking Pancakes

3 Oct
Pancakes ala Isko

Today, I decided to cook pancakes. I was fortunate enough to buy a mix for a pancake batter some time ago. Like most people cooking pancakes, I learned quite a lot. I think it’s right to share them:

  1. Carefully read the instructions. We should read carefully and measure carefully. Otherwise, our batter may turn out differently. The instructions are there to guide us.
  2.  Misread the instructions? We can’t cry over spilled milk for the rest of our lives. We may misread the instructions at times and seemingly ruin what little we have but it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the end of everything. I added a cup and a half to my mix when I was supposed to add only half a cup. I realized my mistake but I didn’t dwell over it. Since I ran out of pancake mix, I added some ordinary cooking flour, some coconut sugar, some milk and voila! I ended up with more than I originally had. If I had spent my time crying, I would have had nothing.
  3. The little things we do makes all the difference. Sure, the instructions are there and they’re supposed to guide us into doing the right thing. I like adding a bit of salt to my pancakes, or everything of the matter. I love how salt brings out the flavor of things. In life, it doesn’t hurt to add a bit of spice as long as they’re in moderation. Too much salt would have ruined my pancake batter instead of bringing out the flavors.
  4. The batter is tasty but it has to be cooked for it to be a delicious pancake. It’s easy to be contented with what we have. The batter alone is tasty but it can be delicious pancakes if cooked. We have to think big a little. May our ambitions (to have pancakes) drive us into achievement (pancakes from ordinary batter)!
  5. Practice makes perfect. The first, second and third pancakes don’t always come out perfectly cooked. It takes a bit of practice to cook perfect pancakes.
  6. Accidents happen but they’re not necessarily mistakes. I accidentally poured too little batter into the pan. The pancake ended up too thin. I have made a crêpe.A lot of this we know today was made and/or discovered by accident like corn flakes, microwave ovens, silly putty, post-it notes, saccharin (the oldest artificial sweetener), slinky (the spring toys), potato chips, fire works and play-doh. Even America and the G-flat was discovered by accident. But they’re not necessarily mistakes.
  7. Just because pancakes are circular, they can’t be made into squares. It’s not illegal to make square pancakes, so why not make them square? I find my square pancakes more delicious and enjoyable than my semi-circular pancakes. Next time, I should try making animal shaped pancakes.

    Pancake squares

  8. The more the merrier. After allpancakes are delicious. But we should always remember:
  9. We can’t have too much. Everything in excess is bad. Too much pancakes is fattening. To much of the good things in life is potentially life-threatening.
  10. We enjoy/suffer the outcome. Cooked perfect pancakes? Great~ It’s the result of practice, precision and expertise. Pancakes born out of hard work tastes more delicious. Burned the pancakes? Pancakes a bit under cooked? It’s probably because we probably paid less attention, lacked a bit of focus and needed more love and passion for what we’re doing. Life’s lesson: life is what we make of it.
  11. Everything is better shared. What’s better than having lots of pancakes? Having someone to share it with. Sharing is fun. For one, we can let other people know how good our pancakes are. They can be critics or avid supporters, either way, they’re much appreciated. Secondly, if ever our pancakes do end up bad, we have someone to share the experience with. The experience may be laughable or tragic but at least we shave someone to amplify the good and drown the bad.

I cooked some pancakes and shared my insights with you guys. I really wish I can let you taste the pancakes I’ve made. They really taste great~ promise! I urge you guys to digest what I have shared. You can share this if you like. It would be awesome!

7 Responses to “Lessons Learned From Cooking Pancakes”

  1. mylzaway 10/03/2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I made pancakes yesterday. Yours look better. HAHAHA.

    • Isko 10/04/2011 at 1:11 am #

      LOL. Ano nalang itsura ng pancakes mo? hahahahaha

  2. cyndale 10/03/2011 at 11:25 pm #

    i can make perfect pancakes… :)

    • Isko 10/04/2011 at 1:10 am #

      Good for you :D

  3. Paolomer 10/04/2011 at 7:58 am #

    Wow, that’s cool Isko, yummy! I was thinking of starting a food blog and this made me re-think and started to inspire. Arrrgh, I need to start it soon, please visit my other blog http;//silentpal.wordpress.com for my travel, leisure, music and food blogs. It’s still under construction so please bear with me. Thank you for subscribing to my blog posts by the way.

    • Isko 10/05/2011 at 10:39 pm #

      It’s good to know I’ve inspired someone through my post. Sure, no problem! Keep in touch! I’ll be reading more of your posts.

      • Paolomer 10/08/2011 at 5:15 am #

        Thanks Isko! I added your blog to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

