The PokéMan

12 May

I remember a time of great struggle and adventure. Each day was yet another opportunity for discovery. I remember my childhood as vividly as my dinner last night.

Boy Fascinated in Pokéballs

Nothing spells my childhood like Pokémon. My first encounter was nothing short of momentous and magical. Ever since, I’ve spent most of my school age years in Poké-fever. Even in my darkest times, I had but my Pokémon with me.

If there’s one person I owe a whole lot of my childhood to, it would be Satoshi Tajiri. 

The Man Behind Pokemon

Satoshi Tajiri

For Pokéfans like me, his name should ring loud bells. After all, Satoshi Tajiri is the creator of the widely phenomenal Pokémon. His initial concepts lead to the metaseries as it exists today. Currently, he works as the CEO of Game Freak- a game developing company which started out as a gaming magazine.

Contrary to popular belief, he does not work at Nintendo which was apparently hit by the magnitude 9.1 quakeand the devastating tsunami in Japan. News were quick to disprove rumors that Tajiri died during the cataclysmic event (thank God). To date, my childhood hero is still alive.

Creative yet Reclusive and Eccentric

Satoshi Tajiri was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome, an autism disorder that is characterized by significant difficulties in social interaction, along with restricted and repetitive patterns of behavior and interests. It differs from other autism spectrum disorders by its relative preservation of linguistic and cognitive development.

From what I read, Nintendo officials describe him as very creative, yet “reclusive” and “eccentric”, two common symptoms of AS. I guess we have something in common (though I’ve never been diagnosed yet). Tajiri has confirmed this diagnosis but has not talked about it publicly.

Another Success Story

A decade after, Tajiri and his creations soar high above the charts. IGN named Tajiri one of the top 100 game creators of all time, mainly for his ability to turn Pokémon into a “worldwide phenomenon”. Electronic Gaming Monthly credited Tajiri as one of the 10 most influential people who made the modern video game market. Video game magazine Edge placed Tajiri on their list of the “Hot 100 Game Developers of 2008”

Now there are more Pokémon than I can remember.

Still Dare to Catch 'em All?

The Child and the Hero

Despite the over half a thousand Pokemon and the highly commercialized franchise it has become, Pokemon still remains a big part of me and my childhood. I can only narrate my Pokemon story but that would have to be an article for next time. Needless to say, I wouldn’t be who I am today if not for Pokemon and its creator.

Satoshi Tajiri, the man behind Pokémon,my creative yet reclusive and eccentric childhood hero.

The PokéMan

*pics are from the web.

Leave a Reply

